It's Time To:

Flip the West

URGENT: Call California’s 14 Republicans Today to Support the DREAMers

Trump’s monstrous decision to terminate Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) in six months is a betrayal of the highest order. They came to America as young children, and they signed up for DACA to live, work, and contribute to our country. America is their home. They now face terrifying uncertainty. If DACA is ended, 1,100 a day will lose their right to legally work in America. That’s not right.

Only 15% of Americans support deporting the DREAMers, because we’re lucky to have these 800,000 young adults in our country. 91% are working. None have ever been convicted of a serious crime. Most have pursued a higher education or trade program. They’ve used their increased wages under DACA to support American businesses and American workers. All of that is in jeopardy now.

Congress MUST act to protect them by passing the DREAM Act. They need to hear from us with a simple message:

“Protect the DREAMers. Protect DACA. Tell Speaker Ryan to call a vote on the DREAM Act.”

Unfortunately, we’ve seen this show before. Four years ago, nine California Republicans voted to end DACA. We’re going to name them and shame them, because they have a chance to do the right thing this time and need to hear from us that we won’t take no for an answer. The nine who voted against the DREAMers in 2013 are:

- Rep. Ken Calvert (202) 225-1986
- Rep. Paul Cook (202) 225-5861
- Rep. Duncan Hunter (202) 225-5672
- Rep. Darrell Issa (202) 225-3906
- Rep. Doug LaMalfa (202) 225-3076
- Rep. Tom McClintock (202) 225-2511
- Rep. Kevin McCarthy (202) 225-2915
- Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (202) 225-2415
- Rep. Ed Royce (202) 225-4111

Two other California Republicans weren’t in Congress in 2013. They need to hear from you too:

- Rep. Steve Knight (202) 225-1956
- Rep. Mimi Walters (202) 225-5611

Three other Republicans voted against defunding DACA in 2013. We’re grateful for that vote, and they need to hear from us that we want them to call on Speaker Ryan to hold an immediate vote on the DREAM Act. They are:

- Rep. Jeff Denham (202) 225-4540
- Rep. Devin Nunes (202) 225-2523
- Rep. David Valadao (202) 225-4695

Once again, we are asking these 14 Republican members to stand up against Trump's far-from-the-mainstream positions or be defeated in 2018. That’s our mission at Flip the 14.

Please, call today, and spread this message far and wide, especially if you know people who live in these districts. We need the pressure to start now so Congress understands that inaction is not an option.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.